Piano renovations...

Some instruments have survived the decades in astonishing preservation and tonal beauty. Nevertheless, even a well-maintained instrument needs careful treatment at some point in order to shine and sound again in all its glory.

In our blog post Tuned, refurbished, renovated or restored? we describe different conditions and requirements. In principle, any instrument can be restored, regardless of its condition. The question of profitability remains to be decided subjectively.

Experts work for and with us!

We work with a few selected experts in Germany who are masters of their trade and who specialize in working with instruments from the Golden Era. We also have surface work done in Europe's piano manufacturing centre in Kalisz (Poland). Like everywhere else - many master the craft, but only a few master the art. Even though our main focus is on the renovation of instruments from our inventory, we also offer these services for your instruments.

So if you have an instrument from before 1940 and would like to see first-class work done on it, please click here to access our FASZINATIONPIANOLA instrument form. We will contact you as soon as we receive the information about your instrument and discuss the various possibilities.

You want to see examples?

The Gustav Mahler Museum in Hamburg (KomponistenQuartier) made a beautiful film in May 2020 - in the middle of the Corona period. You can see two of our renovated instruments as well as the delivery and an interview. A Feurich Welte-Mignon cabinet, which was on loan until the completion of the Steinway-Welten piano in the museum - and was one of the highlights there.

YouTube

By uploading the video you accept the YouTube privacy policy.
Learn More

Load video

 

We will be happy to provide you with references from our work on similar instruments. These are mainly renovations of concert and jubilee grand pianos, upright and reproduction instruments - as well as other artful pianos of leading manufacturers. Our customers include many private music lovers as well as many professional instrument owners, such as pianists, museums and universities.

Restore the former glory.

A particular speciality of ours is the dismantling of instruments according to original drawings or documents. Many a magnificent instrument has been adapted or 'modernized' to the taste of the times and has received straight legs, simple lyre and plate-like music stands. We work together with carvers and woodturners who restore your instrument to its original beauty - so artistically that even connoisseurs can hardly discover it. We are also happy to show you numerous examples of this.

Transparency, fixed prices and always responsive.

Since careful work takes time, we plan with you the best timing and sequence of renovations. Instruments are played in extensively after the renovation work has been completed and are reworked again and again to achieve optimal results. We prefer to have surface renovations polished in shellac, which also takes some time to produce a beautiful and stable surface.

We work reliably, transparently and bindingly towards agreed target dates. By appointment, you can always visit the workshop during the work and see your instrument being repaired. In the meantime, we can provide you with valuable replacement instruments so that you can continue to make music, or in the case of a museum, continue to present an instrument.

Piano Renovierungen…

So manches Instrument überdauert die Jahrzehnte in erstaunlicher Erhaltung und Klangschönheit. Gleichwohl braucht auch ein gut gepflegtes Instrument irgendwann eine sorgfältige Bearbeitung, um wieder in aller Pracht zu erstrahlen und zu erklingen.

In unserem Blogbeitrag Gestimmt, überholt, renoviert oder restauriert? beschreiben wir unterschiedliche Zustände und Bedarfe. Grundsätzlich kann jedes Instrument -egal in welcher Erhaltung- wieder hergestellt werden. Die Frage der Wirtschaftlichkeit bleibt subjektiv zu entscheiden.

Für und mit uns arbeiten Experten!

Wir arbeiten mit wenigen ausgesuchten Experten in Deutschland zusammen, die Meister ihres Faches sind und sich auf die Arbeit mit Instrumenten aus der Goldenen Ära spezialisiert haben. Oberflächenarbeiten lassen wir auch in Europas Klavierbauzentrum in Kalisz (Polen) ausführen. Wie überall – das Handwerk beherrschen viele, die Kunst nur wenige. Auch wenn unser Schwerpunkt auf der Renovierung von Instrumenten aus unserem Bestand liegt, bieten wir diese Leistungen auch für ihre Instrumente an.

Wenn Sie also ein Instrument aus der Zeit vor 1940 haben und erstklassige Arbeiten daran ausgeführt wissen möchten, klicken Sie bitte hier, um auf unser FASZINATIONPIANOLA Instrumentenformular zu gelangen. Wir melden uns nach Erhalt der Informationen zu ihren Instrument umgehend bei Ihnen und besprechen die unterschiedlichen Möglichkeiten.

Sie wollen Beispiele sehen?

Wir weisen Ihnen gern Referenzen nach von unseren Arbeiten an ähnlichen Instrumenten. Dies sind vor allem Renovierungen von Konzert- und Jubiläumsflügel, Pianola und Reproduktionsinstrumenten – sowie weiteren kunstvollen Pianos führender Hersteller. Zu unseren Kunden gehören neben vielen privaten Musikliebhabern auch viele professionelle Instrumentenbesitzer, wie Pianisten, Museen und Universitäten.

Die frühere Pracht wieder herstellen.

Eine besondere Spezialität von uns ist der Rückbau von Instrumenten nach originalen Zeichnungen bzw. Unterlagen. So manches prächtige Instrument wurde irgendwann einmal dem Zeitgeschmack angepasst bzw. ‚modernisiert‘ und hat im Zuge dessen gerade Beine, schlichte Lyra und plattenhafte Notenpulte erhalten. Wir arbeiten mit Schnitzern und Drechslern zusammen, die ihr Instrument wieder in die ursprüngliche Schönheit rückversetzen – so kunstvoll, dass selbst Kenner es kaum entdecken können. Auch hierfür zeigen wir ihnen gern zahlreiche Beispiele.

Transparenz, Festpreise und immer ansprechbar.

Da sorgfältige Arbeiten Zeit brauchen, planen wir mit Ihnen den besten Zeitpunkt und Ablauf der Renovierungen. Instrumente werden bei uns nach Abschluss der Renovierungsarbeiten ausgiebig eingespielt und immer wieder nachrearbeitet, um optimale Ergebnisse zu erreichen. Oberflächenrenovierungen lassen wir bevorzugt in Schellack polieren, auch dies braucht einige Zeit, um eine wunderschöne und stabile Oberfläche zu ergeben.

Wir arbeiten verlässlich, transparent und verbindlich auf vereinbarte Zieltermine hin. Sie können nach Vereinbarung immer während der Arbeiten in der Werkstatt vorbeischauen und miterleben, wie ihr Instrument wieder instand gesetzt wird. Für die Zwischenzeit können wir ihnen wertige Ersatzinstrumente stellen, so dass Sie weiterhin musizieren können, oder im Falle eines Museums, weiterhin ein Instrument präsentieren können.