FEURICH SALES AND PRODUCTION BOOKS

For decades people thought these books were lost. Thanks to the wonderful help of Mrs. Kluttig we were able to look through these books in the Saxon State Archive - State Archive Leipzig in September 2017. Over 20 extensive books document very precisely the production of the important Julius Feurich Pianoforte Factory in Leipzig.

These are the sales books, production books and register books, so that it is possible to search chronologically, by customer and by serial number. In addition to fantastic details about each individual Feurich instrument, you will also find valuable information about deliveries to M. Welte & Söhne in Freiburg and J. D. Philipps in Frankfurt, and much more.

As Feurich was the most important and first supplier of Welte for Welte-Mignon, it is now possible for the first time to research concrete facts about the instruments supplied. Deliveries for Luna (Orchestrions) and Artist (=Mignon), which were manufactured for Popper & Co, are also documented. It is possible that important clues can also be found about the recording grand pianos for Welte-Mignon.

The production books contain all steps during the manufacture of an instrument, so that the names of the 11 different workers are explicitly listed.

The books are generally well preserved - but have obviously been exposed to fire and are therefore very fragile and fragile. Since 2019 all books are in restoration, and will probably not be accessible again until 2021. The books have not yet been digitised - we are in close contact with the Saxon State Archives and will push ahead with the digitisation as quickly as possible, so that this wonderful content will be accessible to all interested parties and further research will be possible.

FEURICH-WELTE-PHILLIPS-POPPER

The sales books document the key role played by Feurich in the success story of both the Welte-Mignon and the Philipps DUCA.

Julius Feurich was also a close friend of Hugo Popper. According to the information in the sales books, it is very likely that Feurich delivered the wing pegs for the later recording wings of Welte-Mignon to Hugo Popper in Leipzig. Feurich delivered a total of 12 wing pegs to Hugo Popper. The first wing peg with ser no 17385 on October 12, 1904, followed by ser no 17383 and 17384 on November 2, 1904, ser no 17386 on December 30, 1904, ser no 17391 and 17393 on February 14, 1905, ser no 17394 on February 7, 1905 and 17394 on February 14, 1905. March 1905, ser no 17389 and 17390 on March 23, 1905, ser no 17387, 17388, 17392 on May 2, 1905. Not a single wing rest was delivered to M. Welte & Soehne in Freiburg according to these books. We list all serial numbers in detail here in order to locate one of these wings somewhere in the world. It may well be that these instruments still exist - but possibly without the recording technology?

Access to the books 1902-1903 was unfortunately no longer possible until then - there may have been important references to the beginnings of the Artist or Welte-Mignon, especially in 1903.

Here are further details of important deliveries from Feurich, some of which document technical innovation steps:

First Klavierraste to Welte

1904, September 7th, the first "Klavierraste 132" is delivered to M. Welte & Söhne in Freiburg*

*but according to Feurich documentation this is the 7th delivery to Welte - further research is necessary in this point

First grand piano to Popper

1904, 12 October, the first grand piano rest is delivered to Hugo Popper in Leipzig

*Further research is necessary in this point, as Feurich did not number the deliveries to Popper & Co

Last Artist to Popper

1905, July 12th, the last "Artist" (Popper trademark for "Mignon") of 21 delivered Artist is delivered to M. Welte & Söhne in Freiburg*

*Further research is necessary in this point

Mignon with tuning key on Welte

1905, 29 July is the start of deliveries of the ""Mignon"" detent with tuning key" to M. Welte & Söhne in Freiburg

First American Rest

1907, November 5th, the first so-called "American rest with tuning keyboard" (ser no 20699) for a US version of the cabinet is delivered to M. Welte & Söhne in Freiburg

First Klavierraste for high piano

1907, 7 November, the first Feurich "Mignon Rast with full/large keyboard" (ser no 20717) is delivered to M. Welte & Söhne in Freiburg - the version for the high piano variant with Welte technology above the ratchet

First Stella to Popper

1908, 25 April, the first Feurich "Stella" (ser no 21042) piano is delivered to Hugo Popper in Leipzig

First DUCA to Philipps

1908, August 6th, the first DUCA (ser no 22737) "Pianino with Sapelimahagony with electric double lights" is delivered to J.D. Philipps in Frankfurt

First grand piano to Welte

1912, 5 October, the first Feurich grand piano (ser no 27557) is delivered "for experimental purposes" to M. Welte & Söhne in Freiburg - the start of the availability of Welte-Mignon built into grand pianos

First DUCARTIST to Philipps

1922, 29 May, the first Feurich DUCARTIST Pianino (ser no 36171) is delivered to J.D. Philipps in Frankfurt

First Welte Combined

1923, October 8, the first Feurich piano (ser no 38203) "combined" (with foot operation) is delivered to M. Welte & Söhne in Freiburg

On the basis of the information available to us we can check when your Feurich instrument was built and when it was delivered to the respective manufacturer of the self-playing technique, e.g. Welte, Popper, Hupfeld or Philipps.

Further details will follow as soon as we have access again to the documents currently under restoration.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

General note: We are grateful for voluntary donations in recognition and support of our great financial and time expenditure for the provision of such documents in our 'Fundus' section - within the framework of §60 c UrhG (German Copyright Act), expressly without the intention of making a profit. If you want to support this voluntarily, you can do so here.

Support is welcome!

We invest a lot of time and money to provide you with 'worth knowing' and above all valuable information in our 'fundus'.

We are thankful for any appreciative support. Voluntarily, of course.

FEURICH VERKAUFS- UND PRODUKTIONSBÜCHER

Jahrzehntelang glaubte man diese Bücher verloren. Dank der wunderbaren Hilfe von Frau Kluttig konnten wir diese Bücher im Sächsischen Staatsarchiv -Staatsarchiv Leipzig im September 2017 durchschauen. Über 20 umfangreiche Bücher dokumentieren sehr präzise die Produktion der bedeutenden Julius Feurich Pianofortefabrik in Leipzig.

Es handelt sich um die Verkaufsbücher, die Produktionsbücher und Registerbücher, so dass chronologisch, nach Abnehmer sowie nach Seriennummer gesucht werden kann. Neben phantastischen Details zu jedem einzelnen Feurich Instrument finden sich hier auch wertvolle Informationen zu den Lieferungen an M. Welte & Söhne in Freiburg sowie J. D. Philipps in Frankfurt u.v.m..

Da Feurich der wichtigste und erste Lieferant von Welte für Welte-Mignon war, können nun erstmals konkrete Fakten zu den gelieferten Instrumenten recherchiert werden. Auch Lieferungen für Luna (Orchestrions) und Artist (=Mignon), die für Popper & Co gefertigt wurden, sind dokumentiert. Möglichweise finden sich so wichtige Anhaltspunkte auch zu den Aufnahmeflügel für Welte-Mignon.

Die Produktionsbücher enthalten alle Arbeitsschritte während der Fertigung eines Instrumentes, so dass explizit die Namen der 11 verschiedenen Arbeiter verzeichnet sind.

Die Bücher sind insgesamt gut erhalten – jedoch offensichtlich dem Feuer ausgesetzt gewesen und somit sehr empfindlich und brüchig. Seit 2019 befinden sich alle Bücher in der Restauration, und werden wohl erst in 2021 wieder zugänglich. Die Bücher wurden bis dato noch nicht digitalisiert – wir sind im engen Kontakt mit dem Sächsischen Staatsarchiv und werden die Digitalisierung zügigst möglich voranbringen, so dass diese wunderbare Inhalte für alle Interessierten zugänglich werden und weitere Forschungen möglich sind.

FEURICH-WELTE-PHILIPPS-POPPER

Die Verkaufsbücher dokumentieren die Schlüsselrolle von Feurich in der Erfolgsgeschichte des Welte-Mignon als auch des Philipps DUCA.

Julius Feurich war zudem eng mit Hugo Popper befreundet. Nach den Informationen der Verkaufsbücher ist es sehr wahrscheinlich, das Feurich die Flügelrasten für die späteren Aufnahmeflügel von Welte-Mignon nach Leipzig zu Hugo Popper geliefert hat. Feurich lieferte insgesamt 12 Flügelrasten an Hugo Popper. Die erste Flügelraste mit der ser no 17385 am 12. Oktober 1904. In der Folge: ser no 17383 und 17384 am 2. November 1904, ser no 17386 am 30. Dezember 1904, ser no 17391 und 17393 am 14. Februar 1905, ser no 17394 am 7. März 1905, ser no 17389 und 17390 am 23. März 1905, ser No 17387, 17388, 17392 am 2. Mai 1905. Keine einzige Flügelraste wurde -nach diesen Büchern- an M. Welte & Soehne nach Freiburg geliefert. Wir nennen hier alle Seriennummern im Detail, um ggf. einen dieser Flügel irgendwo auf der Welt ausfindig zu machen. Es kann gut sein, dass diese Instrumente noch existieren – ggf. jedoch ohne die Aufnahmetechnik?

Zugang zu den Büchern 1902-1903 war bis dato leider nicht mehr möglich – ggf. finden sich v.a. in 1903 wichtige Hinweise zu den Anfängen des Artist bzw. Welte-Mignon.

Hier sind weitere Details zu wichtigen Lieferungen von Feurich, die z.T. technische Innovationsschritte dokumentieren:

Erste Klavierraste an Welte

1904, 7. September wird die erste “Klavierraste 132” an M. Welte & Söhne nach Freiburg geliefert*

*jedoch ist dies nach Feurich Dokumentation die 7te Lieferung an Welte – weitere Recherche ist in diesem Punkt notwendig

Erste Flügelraste an Popper

1904, 12. Oktober wird die erste Flügelraste an Hugo Popper nach Leipzig geliefert

*weitere Recherche ist in diesem Punkt notwendig, da Feurich die Lieferungen an Popper & Co nicht nummeriert hat

Letztes Artist an Popper

1905, 12. Juli wird das letzte “Artist” (Popper Warenzeichen für “Mignon”) von 21 gelieferten Artist an M. Welte & Söhne nach Freiburg geliefert*

*weitere Recherche ist in diesem Punkt notwendig

Mignon mit Stimmklaviatur an Welte

1905, 29. Juli ist der Start der Lieferungen der “”Mignon” Raste mit Stimmklaviatur” an M. Welte & Söhne nach Freiburg

Erste Amerikanerraste

1907, 5. November wird die erste sogenannte “Amerikaner-Rast mit Stimmklaviatur” (ser no 20699) für eine US Variante des Kabinett an M. Welte & Söhne nach Freiburg geliefert

Erste Raste für Hochklavier

1907, 7. November wird die erste Feurich “Mignon Rast mit voller/grosser Klaviatur” (ser no 20717) an M. Welte & Söhne nach Freiburg geliefert – die Version für die hohe Klaviervariante mit Welte Technik oberhalb der Raste

Erstes Stella an Popper

1908, 25. April wird das erste Feurich “Stella” (ser no 21042) Pianino an Hugo Popper nach Leipzig geliefert

Erstes DUCA an Philipps

1908, 6. August wird das erste DUCA (ser no 22737) “Pianino mit Sapelimahagoni mit elektrischen Doppelleuchtern” an J.D. Philipps in Frankfurt geliefert

Erster Flügel an Welte

1912, 5. Oktober wird der erste Feurich Flügel (ser no 27557) “zu Versuchszwecken” an M. Welte & Söhne nach Freiburg geliefert – der Start der Verfügbarkeit von Welte-Mignon eingebaut in Flügel

Erstes DUCARTIST an Philipps

1922, 29. Mai wird das erste Feurich DUCARTIST Pianino (ser no 36171) an J.D. Philipps in Frankfurt geliefert

Erstes Welte Kombiniert

1923, 8. Oktober wird das erste Feurich-Pianino (ser no 38203) “kombiniert” (mit Fußbetrieb) an M. Welte & Söhne nach Freiburg geliefert

Auf Basis der uns vorliegenden Informationen können wir nachschauen, wann Ihr Feurich Instrument gebaut wurde und wann es an den jeweiligen Hersteller der Selbstspieltechnik, z.B. Welte, Popper, Hupfeld oder Philipps ausgeliefert wurde.

Weitere Details werden folgen, sobald wir wieder Zugang zu den aktuell in Restauration befindlichen Dokumenten erhalten.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Allgemeiner Hinweis: Für freiwillige Zuwendungen in Anerkennung und zur Unterstützung unseres großen finanziellen und zeitlichen Aufwandes zur Bereitstellung solcher Dokumente in unserer Rubrik ‚Fundus‘ sind wir -im Rahmen §60 c UrhG ausdrücklich ohne Gewinnerzielungsabsicht- dankbar. Wenn Sie dies freiwillig unterstützen wollen, können Sie dies hier.

Unterstützung ist willkommen!

Wir investieren viel Zeit und Geld, um Ihnen 'Wissenswertes' und v.a. Wertvolles im 'Fundus' zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Für eine anerkennende Unterstützung sind wir dankbar. Freiwillig, versteht sich.