How is the Philipps DUCA Scale structured?

Phillips AG in Frankfurt introduced the DUCA reproduction system to the market in 1908. Just how important the unique selling points in terms of performance range were compared to the main competitor even then is shown by the fact that this DUCA reproduction system was advertised as the one with the largest tonal range of 81 tones (Welte had 80 at that time).

This system also used its own roll format - the narrowest of all reproduction systems, on the grounds that these narrow rolls of music were better protected against expansion in damp weather. Today, more than 100 years later, this proves to be absolutely correct. Philipps, like Welte and Hupfeld, tried to include big names in the repertoire of music rolls - he succeeded, but not to the same extent as Welte and Hupfeld. However, DUCA also built up a very large and attractive repertoire, especially until 1913.

Here is a video of a pneumatic DUCA music roll reading device for digitizing the original music rolls.

 

YouTube

By uploading the video you accept the YouTube privacy policy.
Learn More

Load video

Technically, the DUCA system is very sophisticated and plays very well when restored true to the original and well regulated. It shows clear parallels to Welte - it is still unclear today whether there were any permitted patent uses. Philipps has some technical refinements which are a plus compared to other manufacturers.

The Philipps DUCA scale has the following assignment (from left to right):

Hole 1: Accent Bass

Hole 2: Mezzoforte bass from

Hole 3: Mezzoforte Bass on

Hole 4: Decrescendo Bass slow

Hole 5: crescendo bass slow

Hole 6: Decrescendo Bass fast

Hole 7: crescendo bass fast

Hole 8: Piano pedal down

Hole 9: Piano pedal half on

Hole 10: Motor off

Holes 11 to 91: 81 notes C1 to g4

Hole 92: Piano pedal fully depressed

Hole 93: Return

Hole 94: Fortepedal on

Hole 95: Fortepedal down

Hole 96: Crescendo treble fast

Hole 97: Decrescendo treble fast

Hole 98: crescendo treble slow

Hole 99: Crescendo treble fast

Hole 100: Mezzoforte treble in

Hole 101: mezzoforte treble from

Hole 102: accent treble"

The DUCA scale has 102 almost uniform holes in the note sliding block - 81 of which are for the notes and 21 for the control, 11 on the right and 10 on the left. Philipps DUCA reproduction systems are found increasingly in Feurich uprights and grand pianos as well as in Arnold uprights - the latter being one of the pianoforte factories that Philipps bought up in the late 1920s.

After Hupfeld and Welte initially had no suitable offers for restaurants and cafés, Philipps offered his instruments there with a cash deposit. Worth mentioning is the Philipps revolver mechanism, which was built into their instruments as early as 1911 - and could play six rolls of music automatically one after the other. Equally innovative was the so-called water motor for pitches where there was no or no reliable electrical connection - this water motor could be connected to an existing water supply and could also be activated by inserting a coin.

 

Support is welcome!

We invest a lot of time and money to provide you with 'worth knowing' and above all valuable information in our 'fundus'.

We are thankful for any appreciative support. Voluntarily, of course.

Wie ist die DUCA Skala von Philipps aufgebaut?

Die Phillips AG in Frankfurt brachte ab 1908 das Reproduktionssystem DUCA auf den Markt. Wie wichtig die Alleinstellungsmerkmale im Leistungsumfang gegenüber dem Hauptkonkurrenten auch damals schon waren, zeigt, dass dieses DUCA Reproduktionssystem als dasjenige mit dem seinerzeit größten Tonumfang von 81 Tönen (Welte hatte damals 80) beworben wurde.

Auch dieses System nutzte ein eigenes Rollenformat – das schmalste aller Reproduktionssysteme mit der Begründung, diese schmalen Notenrollen seien besser gegen Ausdehnung bei feuchter Witterung geschützt. Dies stellt sich heute, über 100 Jahre später, als durchaus richtig dar. Philipps versuchte ebenso wie Welte und Hupfeld große Namen im Repertoire der Notenrollen aufweisen zu können – dies gelang, jedoch nicht in gleichem Umfang wie bei Welte und Hupfeld. Jedoch hat auch DUCA vor allem bis 1913 ein sehr großes und ansprechendes Repertoire aufgebaut.

Hier ein Video einer pneumatischen DUCA Notenrollenleseeinrichtung zur Digitalisierung der originalen Notenrollen.

 

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Technisch ist das DUCA System sehr ausgereift und spielt sehr gut, wenn es originalgetreu restauriert und gut reguliert ist. Es zeigt deutliche Parallelen zu Welte – bis heute ungeklärt ist, ob es da erlaubte Patentnutzungen gab. Philipps hat einige technische Finessen, die gegenüber anderen Herstellern ein Plus darstellen.

Die Philipps DUCA Skala hat folgende Belegung (von links nach rechts):

Loch 1: Akzent Bass

Loch 2: Mezzoforte Bass aus

Loch 3: Mezzoforte Bass ein

Loch 4: Decrescendo Bass langsam

Loch 5: Crescendo Bass langsam

Loch 6: Decrescendo Bass schnell

Loch 7: Crescendo Bass schnell

Loch 8: Pianopedal ab

Loch 9: Pianopedal halb ein

Loch 10: Motor aus

Loch 11 bis 91: 81 Töne C1 bis g4

Loch 92: Pianopedal ganz ein

Loch 93: Rücklauf

Loch 94: Fortepedal ein

Loch 95: Fortepedal ab

Loch 96: Crescendo Diskant schnell

Loch 97: Decrescendo Diskant schnell

Loch 98: Crescendo Diskant langsam

Loch 99: Crescendo Diskant schnell

Loch 100: Mezzoforte Diskant ein

Loch 101: Mezzoforte Diskant aus

Loch 102: Akzent Diskant“

Die DUCA Skala hat 102 fast gleichförmige Löcher im Notengleitblock – davon 81 für die Töne und 21 für die Steuerung, rechts 11 und links 10. Philipps DUCA Reproduktionssysteme finden sich vermehrt in Feurich Klavieren und Flügeln sowie in Arnold Klavieren – letztere eine der Pianofortefabriken, die Philipps in den späten 1920iger Jahren aufgekauft hat.

Nachdem Hupfeld und Welte zunächst keine passenden Angebote für Gaststätten und Cafés hatten, bot Philipps dort seine Instrumente mit Geldeinwurf an. Erwähnenswert ist die Philipps Revolvermechanik, die schon 1911 in deren Instrumente eingebaut wurde – und sechs Notenrollen selbsttätig nacheinander abspielen konnte. Ebenso innovativ war der sogenannte Wassermotor für Stellplätze an denen kein oder kein zuverlässiger elektrischer Anschluss bestand – dieser Wassermotor konnte an eine vorhandene Wasserleitung angeschlossen werden und auch über Münzeinwurf aktiviert werden.

 

Unterstützung ist willkommen!

Wir investieren viel Zeit und Geld, um Ihnen 'Wissenswertes' und v.a. Wertvolles im 'Fundus' zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Für eine anerkennende Unterstützung sind wir dankbar. Freiwillig, versteht sich.