Instagram
Facebook
YouTube
Contact
Neue Notenrollen
Search
Close this search box.
Verkauft
Pianos

1920 STEINWAY & SONS
BSP: KLAVIER RESTAURATION

Here is an example of a major restoration challenge, as this piano was so ruined that it was a decision between keeping it and scrapping it. This Steinway & Sons Model V upright was completed in New York on December 10, 1920, originally in fine mahogany. The piano was last seen at an antique dealer near Washington. The many creative previous owners had painted the piano first green, then blue, then black, almost all of the ivory coverings were cracked or broken off, all of the felts had hardened due to the long period of standing in unfavorable conditions, many of the already soft action woods were brittle and the entire piano was very dirty. The soundboard was cracked, as was part of the bass bridge and one pedal had broken off. The stringing was completely deaf - and despite all these limitations, this piano still showed its potential even in its unrestored state.

The renovation of the piano was carried out using Steinway spare parts and took almost a year. The body was completely re-veneered in order to be able to support the desired black polish. The Steinway & Sons tubular action was extensively repaired. The ivory keys were refinished. Care was taken at every stage to ensure that the Steinway quality was retained. After regulation and voicing by a Steinway expert, the piano sounds impressively beautiful again. It has the typical Steinway & Sons sound of the 1920s and an unusual dynamic range. Today the piano is in the home of a family on Lake Ammersee.

Customer testimonials

  • "Tutto ok. Merce corrispondente alle aspettative. Ottimo!" "Very nice contact-super handling-nice garage talk at the pickup" "Very nice piano, everything as described-our expectations are exceeded!" "Very precise...
    Kunde 6
  • "From A to Z simply great, super transaction. Always happy to return!!!!!" "Great instruments! Accurate and honest description! Gladly again !!!" "A beautiful piano and a ...
    Kunde 8
  • "Super piano. Highly satisfied. Children play with joy again. Thank you." "Exceptionally friendly advice, extremely nice ebayer, beautiful piano!" "1AA with an asterisk: very nice, great contact, ...
    Kunde 4
  • "Excellent, sympathetic contact, everything picobello, gladly again!" "Magnifique instrument, communication parfaite : top vendeur à recommander" "A very rare stroke of luck of competence, intelligence and ...
    Kunde 3
  • "...the piano has now become a new "family member" in our home, and is much loved and played..." "Stunning grand piano. Top processing. Very nice & honest contact...
    Kunde 1
  • "Purchased and delivered within 48 hours = excellent service from A-Z!" "Very beautiful grand piano. Perfect processing. Very nice contact. Highly recommended!" "Competent ...
    Kunde 7
  • "...in the meantime I have also had a look at your "Faszinationpianola" page, which is not only very pretty, but also reinforced my already intuitively good feeling...
    Kunde 2
  • "Someone is still earning their money! Top performance! Gladly again ! Highly recommended!" "Everything perfect, very friendly, great service, beautiful piano!!!! TOP!!!" "We are very...
    Kunde 5
1920 STEINWAY & SONS
BSP: KLAVIER RESTAURATION

Do you like this, or are you looking for something else?

If you can't find what you are looking for here, please let us know. We have access to many collections from colleagues and collectors and can also search for your desired instrument on your behalf.

Anfrage - 1920 STEINWAY & SONS
BSP: KLAVIER RESTAURATION

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube
Kontakt
Neue Notenrollen
Suche
Close this search box.
Verkauft
Pianos

1920 STEINWAY & SONS
BSP: KLAVIER RESTAURATION

Hier ein Beispiel für eine größere Restaurationsherausforderung, da dieses Piano derart ruiniert war, dass die Entscheidung zwischen erhalten und verschrotten anstand. Dieses Steinway & Sons Klavier der Modellreihe V wurde am 10. Dezember 1920 in New York in ursprünglich edlem Mahagony fertiggestellt. Das Klavier stand zuletzt in der Nähe von Washington bei einem Antiquitätenhändler. Die vielen kreativen Vorbesitzer hatten das Klavier erst grün, dann blau, dann schwarz gestrichen, nahezu alle Elfenbeinbelege waren gerissen oder abgebrochen, durch die lange Standzeit in ungünstigen Bedingungen waren alle Filze verhärtet, viele der ohnehin weichen Mechanikhölzer waren brüchig und das gesamte Klavier sehr stark verschmutzt. Der Resonanzboden war gesprungen, ebenso ein Teil des Basssteges und ein Pedal war abgebrochen. Die Besaitung war komplett taub – und trotz all dieser Einschränkungen ließ dieses Klavier sein Potential auch im unrestaurierten Zustand noch erahnen.

Die Renovierung des Klaviers erfolgte unter Verwendung von Steinway Ersatzteilen und benötigte fast ein Jahr. Der Korpus wurde komplett neu furniert, um die gewünschte schwarze Politur stabil tragen zu können. Die Steinway & Sons Tubenmechanik wurde aufwendig instandgesetzt. Die Tasten wurde in Elfenbein wieder aufgearbeitet. Bei allen Schritten wurde darauf geachtet, das die Steinway Qualität erhalten bleibt. Nach der Regulierung und Intonation durch einen Steinway Experten erklingt das Klavier wieder beeindruckend schön. Es hat den typischen Steinway & Sons Klang der 1920er Jahre und eine ungewöhnliche Dynamik. Heute steht das Klavier bei einer Familie am Ammersee.

Kundenstimmen

  • “…das Klavier ist inzwischen bei uns zu einem neuen “Familienmitglied” avanciert, und wird heftig geliebt und bespielt…” “Umwerfender Flügel. Top Abwicklung. Sehr netter & ehrlicher…
    Kunde 1
  • “Ganz hervorragender, sympatischer Kontakt, alles picobello, gerne wieder!” “Magnifique instrument, communication parfaite : top vendeur à recommander” “Ein ganz seltener Glücksfall von Kompetenz, Intelligenz und…
    Kunde 3
  • “…ich habe mir inzwischen auch mal Ihre “Faszination Klaviere”-Seite angeschaut, welche ja nicht nur sehr hübsch ist, sondern überdies auch mein ohnehin schon intuitiv gutes…
    Kunde 2
  • “Tutto ok. Merce corrispondente alle aspettative. Ottimo!” “Sehr netter Kontakt-super Abwicklung-nettes Garagengespräch bei der Abholung” “Sehr schönes Klavier, alles wie beschrieben-unsere Erwartungen sind übertroffen!” “Sehr…
    Kunde 6
  • “Da verdient einer noch sein Geld ! Top Leistung! Gerne wieder ! Empfehlenswert!” “Alles perfekt, sehr freundlich, toller Service, wunderschönes Klavier!!! TOP!!!” “Wir sind sehr…
    Kunde 5
  • “Gekauft und binnen 48 Stunden souverän geliefert = exzellenter Service von A-Z!” “Sehr schöner Flügel. Perfekte Abwicklung. Sehr netter Kontakt. Sehr zu empfehlen!” “Kompetente und…
    Kunde 7
  • “Super Klavier. Hochzufrieden. Kinder spielen wieder mit Freude. Danke.” “Aussergewöhnlich freundliche Beratung, extrem netter Ebayer, wunderschönes Klavier!” “1AA mit Sternchen: sehr nett, super Kontakt, sehr…
    Kunde 4
  • “Von A bis Z einfach klasse, Super Transaktion. Immer wieder gerne!!!!!” “Tolle Instrumente! Genaue und ehrliche Beschreibung! Gerne wieder !!!” “Ein schönes Klavier und ein…
    Kunde 8
1920 STEINWAY & SONS
BSP: KLAVIER RESTAURATION

Gefällt Ihnen das, oder Suchen Sie etwas anderes?

Wenn Sie hier nicht fündig werden, schreiben Sie uns gern, was Sie suchen. Wir haben Zugriff auf viele Bestände bei Kollegen und Sammlern und suchen auch gezielt in Ihrem Auftrag nach Ihrem Wunschinstrument.

Anfrage - 1920 STEINWAY & SONS
BSP: KLAVIER RESTAURATION